F.I.S.A.   -

F.I.S.A. member societies

Australian  Air  Mail

Contact :
PO Box 395
Edwardstown SA 5039 Australia
Website :


President :
Vice-President :
Secretary :
Treasurer :
FISA-Delegate :

Margaret Noack

John Bodnar
David Figg
Ross Wood

F.I.S.A. © 2004 - 2016

Official Publication :

The Australian Aerophilatelist

The Australian Airmail Society was founded in South Australia during October 1968 when a meeting of aerophilatelic enthusiasts gathered in the office of Nelson Eustis in Gawler Place, Adelaide. Ted Roberts was elected President and Nelson Eustis the Secretary, positions each held for a long time, Ted until a few years before his death in 1997 – Nelson until his death in 2003. Today, the society is still based in Adelaide and meets at SAPHIL House, 22 Gray Court, Adelaide every month . The society is Affiliation with FISA and has an extensive specialised library holding which is housed at SAPHIL house.

Apart from fostering aerophilately generally, the society has organised a number of re-enactments of important pioneer flights. The most ambitious was that which in 1969 commemorated the epic Ross Smith 1919 England – Australia flight. This resultant highly successful operation was brought about with the cooperation of almost every postal administration en-route, especially Australia.